department of Endodontics
Congratulations 2013 AAE Award Winners!
AAE Award Winners

From left to right: Dr. Riyadh Althumairy won 1st place for his oral presentation “The Effect of Dentine Conditioning with Medicaments Used in Regenerative Procedures on the Survival of SCAP”; Dr. Julie Berkhoff won 4th place for her oral Presentation “Effective Removal of Intracanal Medicaments during Regenerative Endodontic Treatment: An Evaluation of Different Irrigation Procedures”; Drs. Obadah Austah, Jon Fu and Vanessa Chrepa (not pictured) won 9th place for their table clinic “Management of Traumatic Injuries in the Pediatric Population with Regenerative Procedures”.

Shivani Ruparel

Congratulations to Dr. Nikita Ruparel for winning the 2013 Maria Yeung Research Postdoctoral Award. This award is given in memory of Dr. Yeung, a beloved member of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry. This award honors postdoctoral excellence in dental research.

Shivani Ruparel

Dr. Shivani Ruparel, Assistant Professor Research, was awarded the “Junior Faculty Award” for her presentation entitled: “The OLAM-CYP System is Active in Painful Human Dental Pulp Tissues”, during the Institute for Integration of Medicine and Science’s 4th Annual Frontiers in Translational Science Research Day, March 20, 2013.

Shivani Ruparel

Congratulations to Dr. Shivani Ruparel for winning 2nd Place in the Postdoctoral Poster presentation at the 2012 CBN (Center for Biomedical Neuroscience) retreat on May 4th 2012. The title of her presentation was "Role of Cytochrome P450 Enzymes in Oxidized Linoleic Acid Metabolite-Mediated Inflammatory Pain". Authors: Shivani Ruparel, Dustin Green, Paul Chen, Linda Roman, Michael Henry, Armen Akopian and Kenneth Hargreaves

Dustin Green

Congratulations to Dustin Green for winning 3rd place in the Outstanding Student Poster Presentation at the 2012 CBN (Center for Biomedical Neuroscience) retreat on May 4th 2012. The title of his presentation was “A NOVEL MECHANISM INVOLVED IN MEDIATING THE RELEASE OF ENDOGENOUS TRPV1 AGONISTS IN A MODEL OF BURN INJURY ” Authors: Dustin Green, Shivani Ruparel, Michael Hargreaves, Paul Chen, Linda Roman, Ken Hargreaves

AAE Award Winners

Congratulations to Dr. Niki Ruparel for winning 2nd place in the Postdoctoral Oral Competition at the 2012 UTHSCSA Dental School Science Symposium on April 11, 2012. The title of her presentation was "Direct effect of intracanal medicaments on survival of stem cells of the apical papilla." Authors: Nikita Ruparel, Fabricio Teixeira, Kenneth Hargreaves and Anibal Diogenes.

Dr. Andrews

Congratulations to Dr. John Andrews on celebrating 35 years of service with the Department of Endodontics at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. 

AAE Award Winners
Michael Eskander

Michael Eskander, a pre-doctoral student in the Department of Endodontics won the Pre-doctoral Poster Competition at the 2012 Behavior, Biology & Chemistry Conference on March 3, 2012. The title of his poster: "The Role of NGF and OLAMs in the Transition from Acute to Chronic Pain." Authors: Michael Eskander, Shivani Ruparel, Paul Chen, Armen Akopian, and Kenneth Hargreaves.

Mayur Patil

Congratulations to Mayur Patil for winning the 2012 Maria Yeung student Research Pre-doctoral Award. This award is given in memory of Dr. Yeung, a beloved member of the Department of  Pediatric Dentistry.  This award honors a students excellence in dental research.



top of page